Latest News

Petland honors top stores at 45th anniversary event

(Chillicothe, OH, August 6, 2012) -  Petland’s 45th anniversary was recently celebrated at it’s annual Awards Banquet and Trade Show. 

President Joe Watson opened the evening with a look back over the last 45 years. “Forty-five years ago, a young man (Ed Kunzelman) had a dream…a dream to open a different kind of pet store. He called his store Petland. Today, there are Petland stores in 26 states and 6 countries around the world. Through the daily efforts of each Petland franchisee, Petland is enhancing the human-animal bond, one customer at a time.”

Awards given include Domestic Store of the Year, International Store of the Year, Nicholas Alexander Award, Vanguard Award and Presidential Awards. 

Store of the Year awards are based on a number of business operational factors including excellence in store presentation, customer service and animal husbandry. Domestic Store of the Year nominees included Petland Novi, Michigan, operated by Randy Horowitz; Petland Columbus Carriage Place, Ohio operated by Tom and Patty Donovan and Matt Donovan; and Petland Ft. Walton Beach, Florida, operated by Glen and Karen Wentworth. The Domestic Store of the Year winner was Petland Kenessaw, Georgia operated by Lamar and Debbie Parker and Brad Parker.

The International Store of the Year winner was Petland Cuernavaca, Mexico, operated by Petland Mexico, Inc.

The Nicholas Alexander award is presented annually to Petland franchisees that have shown the most dedication to improvement in the areas of store management, animal husbandry and customer service. This year’s recipients include Petland Racine, Wisconsin operated by Steve and Lois Gauntt, Petland Dallas Preston, operated by Jay Suk, Petland Pittsburgh Robinson Town Center, operated by Jeff Koury, and Petland Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada, operated by Anastasia Radke.

The Vanguard Award is presented to Petland’s best first-year operators.  This award can be won by a newly developed Petland store or won by mature store under the ownership of a new franchisee. This year’s recipient is Petland Rome, Georgia operated by Tony and Joyce Samples.

Finally, Presidential Awards are given to outstanding employees in each management department of the Petland store. The 2012 recipients are Justin Brown, Petland Kenessaw, Georgia, Pet Counselor of the Year; Matt Johnson, Petland Racine, Wisconsin, Kennel Manager of the Year; Maria Price, Petland Overland Park, Kansas, Inventory Control Manager of the Year; and Matt Westlake, Petland Columbus, Georgia, Manager of the Year.